9,200 BTU (SACC) single-hose portable air conditioner with heat
icyberboom RHKT14030
Below average efficiency for its size: a CEER of 7.6 beats 0% of the certified 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners.
The icyberboom RHKT14030 delivers 9,200 BTU of real cooling (SACC), enough for about 300-400 sq ft, draws about 1211 watts and costs about $164 a year to run at typical U.S. use and prices. A window unit that cools as much costs about $83 a year.
- CEER
- 7.6 Combined efficiency, higher is betterBelow average · beats 0%
- Real cooling
- 9,200 BTU/h (SACC)For about 300-400 sq ft
- Energy use
- 908 kWh/yrAbout 1211 W, at 750 hours a year
- Design
- One hose Uses room air for its condenser
A good fit if…
- You want one unit for cooling and some heat - it has a heating mode.
- You do not want to empty a bucket - it evaporates the water and sends it out through the hose in normal weather.
Think twice if…
- Running cost matters most - its CEER is below average for 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners.
- You want the most efficient design - one-hose units pull warm air in through gaps; dual-hose units lead the efficiency ranks.
Calculate my running costCheck the size for my room
Details
Certified ratings
| Performance | |
|---|---|
| Real cooling capacity (SACC)Seasonally adjusted cooling capacity: what the unit delivers in the DOE test, after the heat it lets back in | 9,200 BTU/h |
| CEERCombined energy efficiency ratio, includes standby power | 7.6 |
| Power drawSACC divided by CEER | About 1211 W |
| Yearly energy use750 hours of cooling a year | 908 kWh |
| Design | |
| Hose design | Single-duct (one hose) |
| Heating | Yes (type not stated in the data) |
| Compressor | Not reported |
| Water removal | Self-evaporating (exhausts the water through the hose) |
| Certification | |
| Certified model numbers | 1 (1 basic model) |
| Brands | 1 |
| Size class | 10,000 BTU |
Model numbers with these ratings
These model numbers are certified with the same capacity, efficiency, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor as the icyberboom RHKT14030.They may be the same unit sold under several brands, or different products that test the same: the DOE data has no dimensions or noise figures, so check those with the maker. Ratings within about 2% in capacity and 0.3 in CEER are treated as the same; a model whose own rating differs a little shows it in brackets.
- icyberboomRHKT14030
How it compares with the other 10,000 BTU portable units
- CEER (class median 7.9)7.6, tied with 2 other profiles
- Yearly cost vs. class median ($171)$7 less
- Efficiency rank among 34 rating profiles#34
- Models in the class with two hoses22%
- Window units with similar cooling (median CEER 15.0)$83 a year
Compared with every DOE-certified portable unit in the same size class (SACC). Each model number counts once. Yearly cost at 750 hours and 18.0¢/kWh.
Yearly running cost by city
This unit at each city's cooling hours and state electricity price, against a window unit that cools as much.
| City | Hours | ¢/kWh | Per year | Window unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix, AZ | 1675 | 15.5 | $314 | $159 |
| Houston, TX | 1400 | 16.0 | $271 | $137 |
| Miami, FL | 1750 | 15.4 | $326 | $165 |
| Atlanta, GA | 775 | 15.1 | $141 | $72 |
| New York, NY | 525 | 28.4 | $180 | $91 |
| Chicago, IL | 475 | 19.0 | $109 | $55 |
| Denver, CO | 350 | 16.6 | $70 | $36 |
| Seattle, WA | 125 | 14.2 | $21 | $11 |
Ranked around it in the 10,000 BTU class
| # | Model | BTU (SACC) | CEER | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 | Whynter ARC-14SH | 9,200 | 7.8 | $160 |
| 32 | 9,250 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.6 CEER | 9,250 | 7.6 | $165 |
| 33 | Eaton SRCOOL12KE | 9,250 | 7.6 | $165 |
| 34 | icyberboom RHKT14030 | 9,200 | 7.6 | $164 |
Questions
- What size room does the icyberboom RHKT14030 cool?
- 9,200 BTU of real cooling (SACC) suits about 300 to 400 sq ft with normal sun and two people (about 270-360 sq ft if very sunny), by the ENERGY STAR floor-area table. Size by SACC, not the larger BTU on the box.
- How many watts does the icyberboom RHKT14030 use, and what does it cost to run?
- About 1211 watts at full power (9,200 BTU/h divided by its CEER of 7.6), roughly 10.5 amps if it runs on 115 V. At 750 hours a year and 18.0¢/kWh that is about $164, which is $7 less than the typical certified 10,000 BTU portable unit ($171). Its CEER beats 0% of the 706 certified models in its size class.
- Is a one-hose portable air conditioner a problem?
- It is the common design: 78% of the certified 10,000 BTU models have one hose, with a median of 7.9 CEER. The top-ranked Midea MAP12S1TBL has two hoses and 14.7 CEER.
- Do I have to empty the icyberboom RHKT14030?
- Usually not. It evaporates the water it removes and sends it out through the exhaust hose. In very humid weather the pan can still fill, and most units then stop and ask to be drained, so keep a drain hose or a bucket handy.
- How does the icyberboom RHKT14030 heat?
- It has a heating function, but the DOE data records only that it exists, not whether it is a heat pump or an electric element. Ask the maker: a heat pump gives more heat per kWh than a resistance element, which costs the same as any space heater. 200 of the 706 certified 10,000 BTU models can heat.
- Is the icyberboom RHKT14030 as efficient as a window air conditioner?
- No. The 54 ENERGY STAR certified window units that cool about as much (within 15% of 9,200 BTU) have a median CEER of 15.0, against 7.6 here, and the best reach 17.6. At 750 hours a year a window unit with that median would cost about $83, $81 less than this one. ENERGY STAR window units are the more efficient part of the window market, so the gap to an average window unit is smaller. A portable unit makes sense when a window unit will not fit or is not allowed.
Running cost calculator
Pre-filled with these ratings. Pick your state and how many hours you run it, or see what portable units cost to run in every state.
Closest alternatives
Rating profiles with a similar CEER in the same size class, and what sets each one apart from the icyberboom RHKT14030.
| Model | CEER | Compared with this one |
|---|---|---|
| 9,250 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.6 CEER | 7.6 | same CEER, 50 BTU more cooling, cooling only |
| Eaton SRCOOL12KE | 7.6 | same CEER, 50 BTU more cooling, condensate pump |
| Whynter ARC-14SH | 7.8 | 0.2 CEER higher, dual-hose |
| Whynter ARC-14S | 7.9 | 0.3 CEER higher, 300 BTU more cooling, dual-hose, cooling only |
| ACEKOOL PAC-M01 | 8.0 | 0.4 CEER higher, 100 BTU more cooling, cooling only |
See all 34 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners, ranked
Before you buy
- SACC vs. the BTU on the box
- Portable vs. window air conditioner
- Portable AC without a window
- All portable air conditioners, ranked
- Window air conditioners
The Department of Energy lists every certified model, including some no longer sold: check availability before you buy. Source: U.S. Department of Energy, Compliance Certification Database (portable air conditioners), updated 2026-10-14. How we use the data.